My first stop is La Rochelle, a beautiful ancient city in the Bay of Biscay. It’s about four hours drive from where I’m planning to set my story and I’m  envisaging that when things get difficult (as they most definitely will!) my characters, Mia and Adam, an Australian couple in their early thirties, will come here for a few days to straighten themselves out.

It’s a small city with a relaxed vibe. The French do a good line in chilling out. They sit in the cafés with a view of the harbour, sipping coffee or aperitifs, nibbling on something delicious and pondering existentialist conundrums. Well, maybe not everyone but Jean-Paul Sartre lived here and he definitely did. I expect Simone De Beauvoir was also in residence given there are streets named after them both. Now that’s my idea of celebrity spotting!

Leave a comment