Early departure today from La Rochelle and off to my next destination; Argentat in the Upper Dordogne. La Rochelle lays on the most beautiful sunrise every morning giving the whole town a rosy glow.

Had a very ‘French’ experience on my final night here. My friends here decided we would share a bottle of champagne by the harbour before going to the restaurant for dinner. The problem was that the only glasses available were the dreaded plastic cups.

So Hervé went into a nearby bar and explained that this was my last night here in La Rochelle and it was unacceptable that I should suffer the indignity of drinking champagne from a plastic cup.  Of course, the owner completely agreed this was a matter of civic pride and loaned us four champagne glasses. Voila!  Who says the French are unhelpful?

Leave a comment